2024 COSAFA Cup new dates announced; Zimbabwe drawn in Group B


JOHANNESBURG – The Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (COSAFA) has announced new dates for the 2024 COSAFA Cup, which will now be held from June 26 to July 7 in South Africa. The tournament was initially slated for June 14-22 but was postponed earlier this month.

COSAFA announces new dates for 2024 COSAFA Cup in South Africa

The format remains unchanged from last year, with 12 teams participating, divided into three groups of four. The top team from each group, along with the best runner-up, will progress to the semifinals.

South Africa, Zambia, and Angola, based on their FIFA World Rankings, will be the seeded teams. However, Madagascar and Mauritius have chosen not to compete this year.

The tournament is seen as a crucial opportunity for players and coaches to gain experience ahead of the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers. Each country will play a minimum of three games, with a maximum of five. An additional rest day has been scheduled between most pool games for player welfare.

In the tournament's 22-year history, only five nations have won the COSAFA Cup. Zambia leads with seven titles, followed by Zimbabwe with six, South Africa with five, Angola with three, and Namibia with one. Mozambique, Malawi, Botswana, and Lesotho have reached the finals twice but have yet to win.

Zimbabwe will participate in this year's edition after FIFA lifted a ban imposed on ZIFA due to third-party interference. 

They have been drawn in Group B, alongside defending champions Zambia, the Comoros, and another nation yet to be confirmed.

The groups are as follows: Group A includes South Africa, Mozambique, Eswatini, and Botswana. Group C consists of Angola, Namibia, Lesotho, and Seychelles.

Interim Warriors coach Jairos Tapera has already named a 23-man squad for the tournament, which includes a mix of local and foreign-based stars. 

The full squad is listed below:


Marley Tavaziva (Brentford), Geoffrey Chitsumba (Manica Diamonds), Prince Tafiremutsa (Dynamos)


Shane Maroodza (Huddersfield), Andrew Mbeba (Highlanders), Emmanuel Jalai (Dynamos), Thubelihle Jubani (Manica Diamonds), Isheanesu Mauchi (Simba Bhora), Tawanda Chisi (Manica Diamonds)


Daniel Msendami (Jwaneng Galaxy), Joel Phuthi (Sheffield Wednesday), Juan Mutudza (FC Platinum), Kingsley Mureremba (Caps United), Mtokozisi Msebe (Simba Bhora), Tatenda Tavengwa (Venda Football Academy), Richard Hachiro (Ngezi Platinum), Panashe Mutimbanyoka (FC Platinum), Tinotenda Meke (Green Fuel)


Macauley Bonne (Cambridge United), Takunda Benhura (Ngezi Platinum), Tinotenda Benza (Herentals), Denzel Mapuwa (Green Fuel) 

Post a Comment