Takashinga Crowned National Premier League Champions

 By Ashley Dube

Highfield-based side Takashinga were crowned champions of the 2020 National Premier League. After finishing the season equal on points with Midwest, Takashinga took the trophy home on the basis of their superior head to head record over their rivals.

Takashinga Highfield Zimbabwe Cricket National Premier League Winners

Takashinga had finished the season with 6 wins and 2 losses (the same numbers recorded by Midwest) thus leaving the result in their encounter proving the determining factor. Moreover, Takashinga had a superior net run rate over the Midwest with the champions finishing with +1.502 whereas Midwest had +0. 698. For being champions Takashinga walked away with a cash prize of US$10 000.

The NPL was launched by Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) as an attempt to provide a platform for upcoming talents to showcase their skills with increased game time. As a result, new stars came on to the scene such as Gladiators' Malcom Chikuwa who finished the leading wicket taker in the tournament with 23 scalps. 

Chikuwa’s best figures were 7-16 which came in his side win over Amakhosi in their last match of the season. In the process he overtook Queens Sports Club spinner Tanatswa Bechani who finished second on the bowling charts with 22 wickets. Takashinga duo of Roy Kaia and Tapiwa Mufudza finished with 20 wickets each. With leg spinner Brandon Mavuta completing the top 5 as he finished with 19 wickets.

The batting on the other hand was not pleasant enough throughout the tournament with only 3 centurions coming out of the tournament. Tarisai Musakanda finished top of the batting charts with 307 runs at an average of 38.38. Musakanda started on fire with a century and a half century in his first two matches but failed to maintain the form throughout the tournament. Brian Mudzinganyama was second with 264 runs, Kevin Kasuza was third with 258. All-rounders Roy Kaia and Tony Munyonga rounded up the top 5 with 241 and 219 runs respectively.

Post a Comment