Warriors' COSAFA Cup 2024 Squad: Local players get their chance; top goal scorers snubbed


HARARE — Interim Warriors' coach Jairos Tapera has announced a 22-man squad for the COSAFA Cup featuring 16 local players — a contrast from the squad he selected for the 2026 World Cup Qualifiers. 

Warriors' COSAFA 2024 squad, Zimbabwe football, Jairos Tapera, Zimbabwe latest sports news, Zimbabwe football news
The COSAFA Cup 2024 is set to be played in Durban later this month. [Image: Soccer 24]

Manica Diamonds goalkeeper Godfrey Chitsumba plus midfielders Daniel Msendami (based in Botswana) and Joel Puthi (based in England) have been included in the Warriors' squad again, after receiving call ups for the World Cup Qualifiers.

Castle Premier Soccer League top goal scorer Lynoth Chikuhwa of Highlanders has been again excluded from the squad, including other notable players who make up the goal scorers list — Evans Katema (Bikita Minerals), Juan Mutudza (FC Platinum), Never Rauzhi (Bulawayo Chiefs), William Manondo (Caps United), Brighton Ncube (Highlanders); and Michael Tapera (Manica Diamonds). 

Instead, Jairos Tapera opted for Takunda Benhura (Ngezi Platinum) who recently ended his goal drought by scoring four goals in as many games; and Tino Benza (Herentals), whose only goal of the season came on Saturday against TelOne FC.  

Denzel Mapuwa (Green Fuel) also got a call up. The 19 year-old had shown glimpses earlier this year, but is stuck on a single goal he scored on Matchday 1 against Bulawayo Chiefs. 

Zimbabwe return to the COSAFA Cup after a lengthy absence due to an international football ban that was only lifted last year. 

This year's edition of the COSAFA Tournament is set to be played in Durban. Fixtures will be announced in due course. 

The list of the full squad is below: 


  • Marley Tavaziva (Brentford, England)
  • Geoffrey Chitsumba (Manica Diamonds, Zimbabwe)
  • Prince Tafiremutsa (Dynamos, Zimbabwe)


  • Shane Maroodza (Huddersfield, England)
  • Andrew Mbeba (Highlanders, Zimbabwe)
  • Emmanuel Jalai (Dynamos, Zimbabwe)
  • Thubelihle Jubani (Manica Diamonds, Zimbabwe)
  • Isheanesu Mauchi (Simba Bhora, Zimbabwe)
  • Tawanda Chisi (Manica Diamonds, Zimbabwe)


  • Daniel Msendami (Jwaneng Galaxy, Botswana) 
  • Joel Phuthi (Sheffield Wednesday, England)
  • Juan Mutudza (FC Platinum, Zimbabwe)
  • Kingsley Mureremba (Caps United, Zimbabwe)
  • Mtokozisi Msebe (Simba Bhora, Zimbabwe)
  • Tatenda Tavengwa (Venda Football Academy, South Africa) 
  • Richard Hachiro (Ngezi Platinum, Zimbabwe)
  • Panashe Mutimbanyoka (FC Platinum, Zinbabwe)
  • Tinotenda Meke (Green Fuel, Zimbabwe)


  • Macauley Bonne (Cambridge United, England) 
  • Takunda Benhura (Ngezi Platinum, Zimbabwe)
  • Tinotenda Benza (Herentals, Zimbabwe) 
  • Denzel Mapuwa (Green Fuel, Zimbabwe)

Post a Comment