Zimbabwe announce squad for the 2022–23 ICC Men's T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier


HARARE – Zimbabwe has announced its 15-player squad for the 2022–23 ICC Men's T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier, set to take place in Namibia from 22-30 November 2023. 

Zimbabwe cricket announce squad for the 2022-23 Icc men's t20 cricket world cup qualifier
Sikandar Raza will lead the Chevrons in their quest to secure a spot at the 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup 

Newly-appointed team captain Sikandar Raza will be leading the squad, featuring the experience of Craig Ervine, Sean Williams, and Tendai Chatara; as well as the youthful talents Tadiwanashe Marumani and Wessly Madhevere. 

The team is aiming to secure a berth at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, which will be co-hosted by the West Indies and the United States of America from 4 June to 30 June 2024.

The return of paceman Blessing Muzarabani, who missed the recent bilateral T20 series against Namibia, due to a right-hand fracture, has been a major boost. However, pace bowler Bradley Evans is notably absent from the lineup due to ongoing recovery from shin splints. 

2022-23 ICC Men's T20 World Cup Qualifier Namibia

Zimbabwe has introduced four new players compared to their squad at the previous ICC Men’s T20 World Cup: opening batters Innocent Kaia, Nicholas Welch, Tadiwanashe Marumani, and fast bowler Carl Mumba. The tournament, running from 22 November to 30 November 2023, will determine two qualifying spots for the upcoming global event. 

The top two sides in the tournament will secure their spots for the 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup. Alongside Zimbabwe and the hosts Namibia, other participating teams include Kenya, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda.

Zimbabwe men's national cricket squad for the T20 Qualifier:

Raza Sikandar (captain); Burl Ryan; Chatara Tendai; Ervine Craig; Jongwe Luke; Kaia Innocent; Madande Clive; Madhevere Wessly; Marumani Tadiwanashe; Masakadza Wellington; Mumba Carl; Muzarabani Blessing; Ngarava Richard; Welch Nicholas; Williams Sean.

Zimbabwe Cricket name squad for the 2022-23 ICC MEN'S CRICKET WORLD CUP QUALIFIER

Post a Comment