Takashinga Patriots 1 Crowned NPL 2023 Champions


Takashinga Patriots 1 pipped Gladiators to the National Premier League (NPL) 2023 title with an impressive three-wicket win.

Takashinga Patriots 1 NPL 2023 Champions Zimbabwe cricket

It was the Gladiators second consecutive defeat as they failed to maintain their flawless run throughout the tournament at the last hurdle, handing the championship to their opponents on the day.

The Gladiators batted first and their 270 all-out score was built around a brilliant knock of 117 by Wessly Madhevere. His century came off 101 deliveries; with 14 fours and 1 six. 

Huge support came from Malcom Chikuwa who scored an unbeatan 48 as well as Tony Munyonga who scored 43. The wickets were shared around the Takashinga bowling line-up with Tapiwa Mufudza walking out with figures of 3-48 from his 9 over quota.

In response, Takashinga chased the score with relative ease with over three overs in hand. It was fantastic display of team effort as all the batters chipped in with handy scores all-round. 

Skipper Roy Kaia top scored with 57. Innocent Kaia (52), Hamilton Masakadza (43), Tinashe Kamunhukamwe (36) and Chamu Chibhabha (27) as they all came with valuable additions to the run-chase.

With this win, The Takashinga Patriots leapfrogged the Gladiators to the top of the table, securing this edition's title.

Results at glance

  • Queens Sports Club beat the Golden Bulls by 152 runs
  • Uprising were victorious over Takashinga 2 by 42 runs
  • Kadoma Cricket Club beat Mbizo cricket club by 58 runs
  • Amakhosi Cricket club beat Scorpions by 159 runs
  • Bulawayo Athletic Club beat Westside cricket club by four wickets
  • Rainbow Cricket won by 5 wickets in their match against Mutare Sports Club

Post a Comment