Zimbabwe Cricket Names Squad For Afghanistan Tour - Opportunity For The Young Players To Impress

By Ashley Dube

Zimbabwe have named a relatively inexperienced squad for the two Test series versus Afghanistan set for March. With veterans Brendan Taylor and Craig Ervine ruled out of the tour due to illness, a lot will rest on skipper Sean Williams to lead from the batting front as well as all-rounder Sikander Raza Butt.

Zimbabwe cricket tour to Afghanistan

On the other hand, this may come as an opportunity for the relatively young batsmen to step up on the international scene. A lot will be expected from the likes of Tarisai Musakanda who is in fine form in the ongoing intra-squad matches, scoring back-to-back hundreds in the two matches, and rising star Wessly Madhevere who is nailed on to make his test debut as well as left handed batsman Ryan Burl. 

On the bowling front, the series marks the return of leg-spinner Brandon Mavuta who was recalled to the side for the first time since the test series in Bangladesh. Blessing Muzarabani is set to lead the pace department in the absence of Kyle Jarvis and Tendai Chatara. He will be aided by Mountaineers Seamers Victor Nyauchi, Donald Tiripano and Richard Ngarava who is in rich vein in form.

The trio of Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Milton Shumba and Faraz Akram will join the touring party for the white ball series.

Zimbabwe test squad for Afghanistan

Sean Williams (captain), Ryan Burl, Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Kevin Kasuza, Wessly Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Prince Masvaure, Brandon Mavuta, Tarisai Musakanda, Richmond Mutumbami, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Donald Tiripano


Post a Comment