Cricket legend Courtney Walsh joins Zimbabwe Women's Team for T20 World Cup 2024 Qualifier


HARARE – Zimbabwe women's cricket team has secured the services of former West Indies fast bowler, Courtney Walsh, as a coaching consultant. The move aims to bolster their chances of qualifying for the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2024 in Bangladesh. 

Courtney Walsh joins Zimbabwe Women's cricket team
Courtney Walsh

Walsh, the first cricketer to notch up 500 Test wickets, is currently assisting the team in their preparations for the 10-team tournament. 

Notably, Zimbabwe's women's team has yet to make an appearance in the Women's T20 World Cup.

Zimbabwe Cricket Managing Director Givemore Makoni expressed his delight at Walsh's involvement, stating, "We consider ourselves fortunate and privileged to have Courtney join us as a technical consultant for our campaign at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in Abu Dhabi." 

He added, "As one of the world's greatest cricketers, we believe his experience at the highest level of the women's game, in particular, will enhance our chances of securing one of the two spots available at the main global showpiece later this year."

Walsh, who was present during Zimbabwe's recent home series against Papua New Guinea Women, will be supporting head coach Walter Chawaguta in preparations for the upcoming qualifier. 

The Global Qualifier for the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2024, featuring 32 teams, is scheduled to run from April 21 to May 7 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), with the final being played at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

The outcome of this competition will decide the last two entries for the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2024. The main event is set to be held in Bangladesh, with matches planned for September and October of this year.

Zimbabwe is placed in Group B, alongside Ireland, the Netherlands, the UAE, and Vanuatu.

Zimbabwe Squad for T20 World Cup Qualifier 2024:

Marry-Anne Musonda (captain), Josephine Nkomo, Kelis Ndhlovu, Sharne Mayers, Modester Mupachikwa, Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano, Chiyedza Dhururu, Loreen Tshuma, Audrey Mazvishaya, Nomvelo Sibanda, Precious Marange, Pellagia Mujaji, Lindokuhle Mabhera, Francisca Chipare, and Ashley Ndiraya.

Post a Comment