Zimbabwe announce squad for Namibia T20Is – Debuts for Welch and Mayavo; Muzarabani ruled out


HARARE – Zimbabwe have named a strong 16-man squad for their upcoming five-match T20I series against Namibia, starting from October 24 in Windhoek. The squad includes two uncapped players, opening batter Nick Welch and wicketkeeper-batter Nyasha Mayavo, who have impressed in the domestic circuit with their batting performances.

Zimbabwe cricket announce strong squad for Namibia T20I SERIES NICK WELCH INCLUDED
Nick Welch. [Image: ZimCricket]

The selectors have also recalled opener Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, as well as fast bowlers Carl Mumba and Faraz Akram, who have been rewarded for their consistent showings in domestic cricket.

The experienced trio of captain Craig Ervine, vice-captain Sean Williams, and allrounder Sikandar Raza will form the backbone of the team, along with seamer Tendai Chatara, spinner Wellington Masakadza, and all-rounder Ryan Burl.

The other members of the squad are Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, and Richard Ngarava.

The only major absentee from the squad is Blessing Muzarabani, the tall fast bowler who has been Zimbabwe’s best performer in the shortest format. He is still recovering from a fracture in his right hand. 

The series between Zimbabwe and Namibia will take place in Windhoek on October 24th, 25th, 27th, 29th, and 30th. 

Zimbabwe Squad for T20I Series in Namibia:

  • Akram Faraz
  • Burl Ryan
  • Chatara Tendai
  • Ervine Craig (captain)
  • Jongwe Luke
  • Kaia Innocent
  • Kamunhukamwe Tinashe
  • Madande Clive
  • Madhevere Wessly
  • Masakadza Wellington
  • Mayavo Nyasha
  • Mumba Carl
  • Ngarava Richard
  • Raza Sikandar
  • Welch Nick
  • Williams Sean

Post a Comment